Le renforcement des organisations paysannes dans les pays en développement
Le renforcement des organisations paysannes dans les pays en développement


AgriCord is governed by a General Assembly of 25 delegates, of which 13 are elected leaders of farmers’ organisations and 12 are executive directors of the agri-agencies. The executive Board of AgriCord is chaired by the president of AgriCord, an elected farmer leader[1]. AgriCord is thus mandated and led by representative organisations of farmers in the EU (8 countries), in Canada, in Asia (10 countries) and in Africa (1 country).


Farmers Fighting Poverty Advisory Committee

For the steering of Farmers Fighting Poverty, the General Assembly of AgriCord takes advice from the Advisory Committee.  This Committee is composed of farmer representatives from developing countries in different regions of the world, the president and managing director of AgriCord.


AFA             Asian Farmers Association for Sustainable Development

EAFF            East African Farmers Federation

PAFO           Pan African Farmers Organisation

PROPAC      Plateforme org. paysannes d’Afrique Centrale

ROPPA         Réseau des Organisations Paysannes et de Producteurs AgriColes 

SACAU         Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions

UMNAGRI    Union Maghrébine et de l'Afrique du Nord des Agriculteurs

UNICAFES    União Nacional das Cooperativas de Agricultura Familiar

The Advisory Committee started in October 2011[2], and has – each year – formulated recommendations to the General Assembly of AgriCord about the priorities, the approaches and strategies of Farmers Fighting Poverty.


[1] AgriCord presidents: G. Doornbos of LTO Netherlands (2003-2007), L. Pellerin of UPA Canada (2007-2010), P. Vanthemsche of Boerenbond Belgium (2010-2016), Jean-François Isambert of AGPB and UNIGRAINS France (2016-2018).

[2] First meeting of the Advisory Committee took place in Madrid, October 2011. Further meetings in Stockholm (October 2012), Montpellier (November 2013), Manila (November 2014), Québec (October 2015), Valencia (November 2016).